Northern Nigerian Breaking News

APC governors submit names of 5 presidential aspirants to Buhari

The All Progressives Congress (APC) governors have submitted the names of five presidential aspirants to President Muhammadu Buhari to select a consensus candidate from.

Chairman of the Northern Governors Forum and Plateau State Governor, Simon Lalong confirmed this in an interview with Channels TV on Tuesday morning, on Sunrise Daily.

The names, according to him , included that of the Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, former governor of Lagos State, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Governor Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti State), Rotimi Amaechi, former Minister of Transportation, and Governor Dave Umahi (Ebonyi State).

Lalong said the names were arrived at in a meeting with some members of the National Working Committee and the party governors.

- Advertisement -

The governors had after meeting with the President said they will return to the villa after meeting with the party’s National Working Committee (NWC) and other stakeholders.

Read Also: N266.5m fraud: EFCC arraigns fake army general who claimed Buhari nominated him as COAS

“They picked one from South-East, one from South-South and three from South-West geopolitical zones in line with their position that power should shift to the South,” he said.

He said the president is expected to pick from the list.

The presidential primary of the party holds today. The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan was named as the consensus candidate by the National Chairman, Senator Abdullahi Adamu. This was, however, punctured by the presidency.

Comments are closed.