Northern Nigerian Breaking News

APC wins Imo bye-election


The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared Mr Blyden Okanni of the All Progressives Congress as the winner of the Ngor Okpala State Constituency by-election in Imo State.

INEC Returning Officer for the election, Prof. Dennis Akoh, announced this in Owerri on Sunday.

Akoh said that Okanni polled 9,248 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mr Emeka Nwachukwu of the Peoples Democratic Party who scored 7,161 votes.

Akoh, a professor at the Federal University, Ndufu-Alike Ikwor (FUNAI) in Ebonyi, said the candidate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Mr Christopher Nwaiwu placed third with 501 votes.

- Advertisement -

Read Also:INEC redeploys staff nationwide

He said out of the 11 candidates that contested the by-election, the only female and candidate of the National Rescue Movement (NRM), Mrs Joy Nze, got 15 votes.

The returning officer said a total of 18,083 voters were accredited for the poll, out of a total of the 94,118 registered voters in the area.

He said the total valid votes cast were 17,280, while 582 votes were rejected.


1 Comment
  1. blue meanie spores says

    167554 147005Simply wanna input on few common issues, The web site layout is perfect, the articles is genuinely excellent : D. 721125

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.