Mambayya House to mark 21 years anniversary with public lecture

The Aminu Kano Center for Democratic Studies of Bayero University, Kano is marking 21 years of existence. Solacebase reports that Aminu Kano Centre for Democratic Studies, Mambayya House, Kano was founded in November 2000 as a research and training unit of the Bayero University, Kano, in the premises vacated by the defunct Centre for Democratic Studies (CDS). which was established by the Federal Government in 1989.

However, when the CDS was scrapped in 1996, the Federal Government donated the building to Bayero University, Kano. The then Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Alhaji Gidado Idris, formally handed over Mambayya House to the former Vice Chancellor, Bayero University, Kano, Professor Musa Abdullahi, on March 3, 1999.

Read Also:Jigawa 2023 Governorship: What Gov Badaru told Buhari Support Groups

A statement on Sunday, signed by Director, Mambayya House, Prof. Isma’ila M. Zango said primary among activities designed to mark the monumental event is a scheduled public lecture titled – ”Democracy, Good Governance & The Question of National Integration” to be delivered by Governor of Ekiti State Dr. Kayode Fayemi, on Saturday, December,4th, 2021 at Sa’adu Zungur Auditorium Complex Mambayya House in Kano.

Read Also:2023: Direct primaries will overstretch INEC- PGF Chairman

The statement said that the centre popularly known as Mambayya House, for 2 decades and a year has conducted 78 Public Lectures, 29 Researches, 85 Trainings and 72 Publications.

‘’Also to be witnessed during the milestone celebration is a book presentation on the life of the iconic national orator Late Yusuf Maitama Sule,’’ the statement said.

The statement added that the Chairman of the occasion is Jigawa State Governor, Alhaji Muhammad Badaru Abubakar and the Special Guest is Senate Committee on Environment Chairman, Senator Ike Ekweremadu, while the host is Vice Chancellor, Bayero University, Kano, Prof. Sagir Adamu Abbas.

According to the statement, former Directors of the Center from year of inception in year 2000 to date such as Prof. Attahiru Jega, Prof. M.D. Suleiman, late Prof. Haruna Wakili and late Prof. Shehu Dalhatu are all billed to be honored in a deserving awards ceremony.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.