Kano inaugurates committee to enforce 25% school fees reduction

Gov. Abdullahi Umar Ganduje

Kano State Government has inaugurated a high powered Committee for the reduction of 25% school fees by Private and Voluntary schools in the state.

The state Commissioner of Education, Malam Muhammad Sanusi Sa’id Kiru inaugurating the  27-member Committee in his office, on Thursday.

A statement issued by the ministry public relations officer, Aliyu Yusuf said the Commissioner tasked the members to ensure full compliance of the government’s directives by all  Private and Voluntary schools across the state in respect of 3rd term school fees.

Solacebase reports that the state government has been having a running battle with private school owners after reopening of schools due to the COVID-19 pandemic with a directive to them to reduce the 3rd term school fees by 25% otherwise it would cancel the term.

However, the private school proprietors insisted that students must pay the full school fees without reduction.

The government directive has, however, divided the private school owners association as a group accepted the order while others insisted on the payment of full school fees by students.

According to the statement, he further charged members of the Committee to identify the recalcitrant schools as well as to make recommendations for appropriate disciplinary actions against them.

‘’While expressing confidence in the calibre of the Committee members, he urged them to work as enforcement agents so as to achieve the set objectives, ‘’said the statement.

‘’He, however, frowned at the attitudes of the defaulting private schools’ proprietors, saying that government will not reverse its decision on the reduction.’’

The statement said the Chairperson of the Committee, Hajiya Lauratu Ado Diso assured of the committee determination to see to the success of the exercise.

It noted that Hajiya Lauratu Diso who is also the Permanent Secretary of the ministry appealed to the Committee members to work as a team with a view to achieving successes

The names the members of the Committee to include Hajiya Lauratu Ado Diso as chairperson, Ahmed Tijjani Idris, Halima Sadiya Tukur, Barr. Ibrahim Ammani and Gwani Abdussalam Abdulqadir.

Other members are Malam Auwal Aqilu, Malam Hamza Yunusa, Mustapha Idris, Sani Garba Yakasai, Auwalu Ya’u KK, Ali Ahmad, Salisu Idris, Balarabe Alhassan, Sagir Umar Danbare and Salisu Auwalu.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.