INEC presents certificates of return to Obaseki, Shaibu

(L-R) National Commissioner, INEC in charge of Edo,Rivers, and Bayelsa, Mrs May Agbamuche-Mbu and Godwin Obaseki on Tuesday at INEC headquarters, Benin City, Edo State. Pix Channels TV

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Tuesday issued certificates of return to Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki, and his deputy, Phillip Shaibu.

The National Commissioner, INEC in charge of Edo, Rivers, and Bayelsa, Mrs May Agbamuche-Mbu made the presentation on at the INEC office in Aduwawa, Benin City, the Edo State capital on Tuesday.

Mrs May Agbamuche-Mbu commended stakeholders particularly the security agencies for their role in the smooth conduct of the governorship election.

Agbmuche-Mbu said while presenting the certificate to Obaseki “I hereby certify that Godwin Nogheghase Obaseki of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has been elected to the office of governor of Edo State of the Federal Republic of Nigeria at the election held on the 19th of September 2020.’’

Read Also:Dangote denies endorsing any candidate in Edo Guber election(Opens in a new browser tab)

Governor Obaseki was returned elected by INEC after polling the highest number of votes in the keenly-contested election conducted on Saturday, September 19.

The INEC Returning Officer for the poll, Professor Akpofure Rem-Rukeh, declared the governor as the winner on Sunday at the office of the electoral umpire in Benin City, which doubled as the final collation centre.

Obaseki secured 307,955 of the total votes, 84,336 more votes than his closest rival Ize-Iyamu, who got 223, 619 votes.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.