UPDATED: Supreme Court upholds Yahaya Bello’s election as governor

Kogi Results
Gov. Yahaya Bello

The Supreme Court has upheld the election of Yahaya Bello as the Governor of Kogi State.

Delivering Judgement on Monday, the Apex Court disagreed with the appeal filed on five grounds by the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the Kogi Governorship Election, Musa Wada.

Mr Musa Wada claimed that the election held on November 16, 2019, was riddled with serious electoral infractions; rigging and over-voting, and that Governor Bello didn’t secure the highest vote.

Solacebase reports that Yahaya Bello won his reelection as Kogi State governor as the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) on November 19th, 2019.

Read Also:Parties deregistration: INEC to challenge Appeal Court judgement at Supreme Court(Opens in a new browser tab)

According to INEC, Bello won 12 local governments to beat his major challenger Musa Wada of People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who won 9 local governments.

In all, Bello polled 406,222 votes. Wada polled 189,704. The governorship candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) Natasha Akpoti polled 9482 votes to come third.

The apex court dismissed the appeal filed by the PDP and SDP.

The court disagreed with the five grounds of appeal filed by the PDP candidate, Musa Wada and the seven grounds of appeal filed by the SDP candidate,Natasha Akpoti.

Apart from the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Tanko Muhammad, other members of the panel include Justices Olabode Rhodes-Vivour, Sylvester Ngwuta, Kudirat Kekere-Ekun, Inyang Okoro, Uwani Abba-Aji and Amina Augie.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.