Kwara Gov Nominates Five More Women As Commissioners

Kwara State Governor, AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq, on Tuesday released an additional six-person commissioner-nominees’ list, with five more women.

The latest list, which again reflects the state’s demography, means that Kwara now has nine women (56.25 percent) and seven men (43.75 percent) commissioner-nominees who included top bureaucrats, entrepreneurs, educators, professionals, and grassroots politicians.

Kwara has 16 local government areas.

The latest nominees are Afolabi-Oshatimehin Harriet (Ifelodun); Ahmad Bisola (Ilorin West); Aremu Deborah (Irepodun); Oyedun Funke (Isin); Oyeyemi Florence (Oke Ero); and Suleiman Iliasu (Moro).

The full list came five months after the governor apologized and pledged to compensate for women’s loss at the general election in which 100 percent of the elective positions went to men, according to a statement by the governor’s chief press secretary, Rafiu Ajakaye.

The list was unveiled on Tuesday at the Kwara State House of Assembly where Speaker Yakubu Danladi said the screening of the nominees would begin on October 29.

AbdulRazaq had initially released a four-woman list which was followed a few weeks ago by another list of six men.

An entrepreneur and renowned community development advocate, 38-year-old Harriet hailed from Okeayo/Ora community in Ifelodun local government area of the state.

She was an officer at the Surveillance Department of the National Pension Commission (PENCOM) Abuja between 2007 and 2011 and was until the appointment the Chief Operating Officer of M&P Micro Credit Scheme.

Harriet, a top chieftain of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), has contributed immensely to her community’s development, including the ongoing relocation of Ora Community Grammar School, construction of the AWUA bridge that connects her local government to Isin local government.

Harriet is an alumnus of the University of Ilorin, Kwara State Polytechnic and Abadina College of the University of Ibadan.

Fatima Bisola, who holds a postgraduate Diploma in Education from Usman Dan Fodiyo University, graduated from the Department of English at the University of Ilorin in 2011. She attended Federal Government Girls College Omu Aran.

The 30-year-old nominee is currently an employee of the Kwara State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB), attached to the Sheikh AbdulSalam Junior Secondary School, Ilorin.

The nominee is an author of two publications: Aesthetics of Africanism in Camara Laye’s African Child and Radiance of the King and Effect of Mother Tongue Interference in Spoken English.

Deborah, who holds a Bachelor of Science in Economics from the University of Ado-Ekiti, currently teaches at the ECWA Secondary School Omu Aran.

The 45-year-old nominee has taught for over 10 years. She is a leader of the Irewolu Cooperative Society which facilitates women’s access to small loans and credit as part of the community’s efforts to empower women in small scale businesses.

Funke, 57, holds a Bachelor of Education (Guidance and Counselling) from the University of Ado-Ekiti and Nigeria Certificate of Education from Kwara State College of Education Ilorin (Integrated Science).

She worked at the Kwara SUBEB as School Support Officer (SSO) between 1980 and 2015 where she retired as a Deputy Director.

Funke, a chieftain of the ruling APC, was Organising Secretary of APC Women Elders’ Forum and Secretary of the Kwara State chapter of the Women Teachers Association of Nigeria.

Florence, 31, holds a Post Graduate Diploma in Education and a Master of Science in Industrial Chemistry. She is an alumnus of the University of Ilorin and National Teachers’ Institute Kaduna.

She was until her appointment the Administrative Manager and Public Relations Officer at Roemichs International School Ilorin. She also worked at Dabco Nigeria Limited Ilorin.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.