FG Redeploys 254 Senior Officials Across MDAs

Head of Service,Folashade Yemi Esan

The Federal Government has approved mass redeployment of senior government officials across ministries, departments, and agencies in a move aimed at repositioning the civil service for efficient service delivery.

A total of 254 top government officials from Salary Grade Levels 15 to 17 are affected in the exercise.
In the federal civil service, workers on the SGL 17 are directors; those on the SGL 16 are deputy directors while those on the SGL 15 are assistant directors.

According to a circular dated October 4 conveying the mass deployment and cited by one of our correspondents on Sunday, 74 directors; 85 deputy directors and 95 assistant directors are affected in the exercise.

The circular was signed by the Director overseeing the Office of the Permanent Secretary, Mrs A.I. Attah, on behalf of the acting Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Dr Folasade Yemi-Esan. It was marked HCSF/CMO/002/S.II/T.3/II/413.

Attah indicated that those affected included newly promoted and existing directorate level officers under the pool of the Office of the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation.

She directed that all handover and takeover processes should be completed latest by Friday.

She warned that any of the officers, who disregard the redeployment order, would be sanctioned in line with relevant civil service rule.

Attah wrote, “I am directed to convey the approval of the acting Head of the Civil Service of the Federation for the redeployment of newly promoted and existing the SGL15-17 directorate level officers under the pool of the Office of the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation as attached.

“The posting instructions should be downloaded at www.ohcsf.gov.ng, hard copies submitted by officers for documentation should be verified with the one on the website.

“All handover and takeover processes should be completed on or before Friday, October 11, 2019.

“Any disregard of this deployment shall be treated in accordance with provisions of PSR 030301(b).”

The circular was addressed to the Chief of Staff to the President, Abba Kyari; the Deputy Chief of Staff, Ade Ipaye; Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha; all ministers, all ministers of state and all permanent secretaries.

Others are chairmen of statutory commissions, chairmen of the Code of Conduct Bureau/Tribunal, service chiefs/Inspector-General of Police, the clerk of the National Assembly; Secretary, National Judicial Council and Accountant-General of the Federation.

Other officers copied are the Auditor-General of the Federation, Surveyor-General of the Federation, Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court of Nigeria, Chairman, National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission as well as directors-general and Chief Executives of parastatals/agencies.

The reasons indicated in the circular for the deployment of the officers range from filling vacancies to understudying of retiring officers and serving as deputies to some officers.

The Federal Government had in August redeployed 36 officials in the directorate level from the SGL 15 to 17 in the Office of the Head of the Civil Service of Federation.

The top government officials, who were posted from different ministries, departments and agencies to others, included 16 directors (SGL 17); nine deputy directors (SGL 16); and assistant directors (SGL 15).



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.