Kano Speaker, Rurum Wins Reps Seat

By Umar Isa

The Speaker of Kano State House of Assembly, Kabiru Alhassan Rurum has emerged winner of the Rano, Kibiya, Bunkure Federal Constituency election held on Saturday.

Kabiru Alhassan Rurum, a candidate of the All Progressive Congress, APC polled 62,455 votes to defeat the candidate of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Sani Muhammad Aliyu Rano who scored 33, 296 votes.

A breakdown of the results indicate that, the APC candidate scored 16, 505 while the PDP candidate of the PDP had 2, 543 in Kibiya LGA.

Also in Rano LGA the APC candidate polled 21,459 as the PDP candidate had 9, 292 while in Bunkure LGA, APC had 24,491 and the PDP candidate scored 11, 461 votes.

Solacebase recalled that Kabiru Alhassan Rurum is a two time Speaker in the Eight Assembly as he steps down in 2017 over bribery allegation. He was later cleared by a committee of the House that investigated the issue and subsequently emerged deputy Speaker of the House.

However in 2018 when then Speaker Abdullahi Ata was impeached , Kabiru Alhassan Rurum was re-elected as the House Speaker.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.