Kano Inaugurates Technical Committee on State Contributory Pension Scheme

 Kano State Government has inaugurated 12- Member Technical Committee on the State Contributory Pension Scheme in its effort to fashion out new ways to facilitate quick remittance and payment of gratuities and other retirement benefits to the pensioners in the State.

A statement signed by Press Secretary to the Deputy Governor Hassan Musa Fagge, said the State Government had recently inaugurated an eight Member Committee for the payment of outstanding retirement benefits for Pensioners in the State.

It said inaugurating the Technical Committee in his office, the State Deputy Governor Nasiru Yusuf Gawuna said the Committee is saddled with the responsibility to come up with new ways to address the problems of non-remittance and the inability for the Pension Fund trustee to pay Gratuities and retirement benefits.

” arising from 10 years of running the Scheme, Kano State Pension Fund trustees, sometime in July last year, has convinced Stakeholders Conference in Kaduna whereby topical issues were discussed to access the challenges and progress made so far since the implementation of the scheme.

” it is in this respect that various issues were attained especially the inability of the Pension Fund Trustees to settle gratuity for our teeming retiress in the State and that has necessitated the formation of this very powerful Committee” he explained.

Gawuna further urged Members of the Committee to use their experiences and talents to work diligently for the overall success of the exercise.

“I equally want to solicit the understanding and cooperation of all Pensioners, Stakeholders, and people in general towards complementing the effort of the Committee Members in discharging their assigned responsibilities” he added.

According to the Deputy Governor, the Committee has former Head of Civil Service Alhaji Rabi’u Zakariyya as Chairman, Alh. Farouk lawan, Alh. Isa Ahmed and Garba Aliyu Gezawa as Members of the Committee.

Other Members of the Committee include Alhaji sani Dawaki Gabasawa, Hajiya Amina U. Musa, Mukhtari Sani Daneji, Representative Kano State House of Assembly and Comrade Salisu Ahmed Gwale, Chairman National Union of Pensioners, Kano Branch.

Others include Comrade Hambali Abubakar, Chairman Nigerian Union of Teachers, Kano wing, Comrade Kabiru Ado Minjibir Chairman Nigeria Labour Congress kano Branch, Alh. Auwalu Balarabe former Auditor General and Auwalu Musa Tanko who would serve as Secretary of the Committee.

Responding, the Chairman of the Committee Malam Rabi’u Zakariyya expressed their appreciation to the State Governor Dr. Abdullahi Umar Ganduje for finding them worthy of the new assignment and assured for their commitment to pursue their job with all their energy and sincerity.

” Kano State Government has shown a lot of interest and concern by taking more initiatives to address the challenges of Pension and gratuity for the benefit of our teeming Pensioners. So our Committee will be ready to execute its assigned responsibilities diligently ” he stated.

The Committee was given four terms of references which include among others, to liaise with relevant agencies to ensure that issues raised against them are attended to as at and when due and advise Government on measures to be taken to ensure implementation of recommendations by the affected agencies.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.