22 Candidates Jostle To Unseat Ganduje In Kano

23 gubernatorial candidates have emerged as contestants for the 2019 General Elections, vying  for Kano state Governorship seat.

The frontline candidates for the polls are incumbent, governor, Dr Abdullahi Umar Ganduje.(APC) and one of his core challengers,  Abba Kabir Yusuf of the Peoples Demicractioc Party, PDP , who is anointed candidate of the Kwankwasiyya movement.

The list of candidates released by INEC in Kano on Saturday  indicates that four women  are  among the governorship contestants, they are, Safiya Salisu Abdul, National Unity Party, (NUP)Fatima Isa, Restoration Party of Nigeria,(RPN),Amina Garba, NAC. and  Halima Ahmed, Alliance for Democracy,(AD).

Solacebase reports that, mallam Sagir Takai of the Peoples Redemptions Party,(PRP) is  not listed on the INEC  roll call of  Kano governorship candidates.

INEC Kano , said on 25th October,2018 the commission  received the critical documents and credentials  of Kano state Governor, Dr Abdullahi Umar Ganduje as the Kano governorship candidate of the   All Progressive Congress, APC ,alongside  Nasiru Yusuf Gawuna  as  his running mate.

Commenting on the absence of Sagir Takai (PRP) from the released gubernatorial election list, the   INEC, Kano, Spokesman Muhammad Lawal Garba, said “the issue concerning Takai should not come up now, because PRP has a candidate, you can only talk about Takai,  after the legally permitted  substitution period elapses.

He cautioned that, the names of candidates were been sorted out  noting that, it is premature to begin to speculate on the exclusion of any particular candidate.

The name and credentials of former Kano state governor and minister of education mallam Ibrahim Shekarau  were pasted at the commission, confirming the surfacing of the  former governor as the APC senatorial candidate for Kano Central.

The 23 governorship candidates and their deputies listed, by INEC Kano  stated that,  among the political parties, who fielded candidates for the 2019 gubernatorial elections, are Alliance for Democracy, AD,  Young Peoples Party,YPP,  Kowa Party, KP, National Unity Party, NUP. Green Party of Nigeria,GPN,  and Restoration Party of Nigeria,RPN.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.