FIFA, CAF Name Observers For NFF Elections

FIFA  on Monday named Luca Piazza and Solomon Mudege as its Observers for Thursday’s elections into Nigeria Football Federation Executive Committee.

Mudege is FIFA’s Senior Manager for Development Programmes (Africa) while Piazza is a senior official in the FIFA President’s office.

Meanwhile , the Confederation of African Football (CAF) through a letter addressed to the NFF General Secretary, Dr. Mohammed Sanusi and signed by CAF Secretary General, Amr Fahmy, Assigned a Member of its Executive Committee, Mr. Sita Sangare, as its Observer to the election.

An Army Colonel, Sangare,is also President of the Burkina Faso Football Federation.

Katsina  state is already a beehive of activities for the eye opening election with the arrival on Monday of an advance team from the NFF Secretariat.

The NFF Electoral Committee established by the NFF Congress at the 2017 Annual General Assembly in Jos, Plateau State, which is headed by Barr. Muhammed Sani Katu, will conduct the polls.

The Committee has already cleared incumbent Amaju Melvin Pinnick, former Nigeria international and one –time NFF Secretary General Chief Taiwo Ogunjobi, former NFF President Aminu Maigari and Mr. Chinedu Okoye to contest for the Presidency.

Incumbent Seyi Akinwunmi will vie with Sunday Dele-Ajayi for the 1st Vice President’s position, while Patrick Ifeanyi Ubah will oppose incumbent Ibrahim Musa Gusau for the slot of Chairman of Chairmen.

A total of 15 other persons will battle for the remaining eight available positions on the Executive Committee.

All 44 Members of the Nigeria Football Federation Congress will cast their votes on Thursday. A number of the voters will arrive in Katsina on Tuesday.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.