Rohr Drops Lokosa, Ajiboye, Agbo Trimming Down His World Cup Squad

Super Eagles head coach, Gernot Rohr has dropped five players from his initial 30-man World Cup squad.

Junior Lokosa, who has scored 18 goals for Kano Pillars this season, is one of those dropped from the squad.

Others are injured KAA Gent winger Moses Simon, Stephen Eze, Uche Agbo and goalkeeper Dele Ajiboye.

The Super Eagles are in group D alongside Croatia, Iceland and Argentina. They will on Wednesday jet out to London for a friendly game with England.

Here’s the 25-man squad.


Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba, Nigeria), Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa), Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Caruna, Spain)


William Troost-Ekong (Bursaspor, Turkey), Leon Balogun (Brighton, England), Ola Aina (Chelsea, England), Kenneth Omeruo (Chelsea, England), Bryan Idowu (Amkar Perm, Russia), Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal), Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor, Turkey), Elderson Echiejille (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Tyronne Ebuehi (Benfica, Portugal)


John Mikel Obi (Tianjin Teja, China), Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor, Turkey), John Ogu (Hapoel Beer Sheba, Israel) Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England), Oghenekaro Etebo (Feirense, Portugal) Joel Obi (Torino, Italy), Mikel Agu (FC Porto, Portugal)


Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China), Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England), Victor Moses (Chelsea, England), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal, England), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England), Simeon Nwankwo (Crotone, Italy)


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.