Senate Confirms Aisha Ahmad As CBN Deputy Governor

The Senate has confirmed the nomination of Aisha Ahmad and Edward Adamu for appointment as deputy governors of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

The lawmakers confirmed the appointments on Thursday during plenary at the upper chamber of the National Assembly in Abuja, the nation’s capital.+

The Senate also confirmed the nomination of Professor Adeola Adenikinju, Dr Aliyu Sanusi and Dr Robert Asogwa, for appointment as members of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) of the CBN.

The lawmakers, however, rejected the nomination of Dr Asheikh Maidugu as a member of the committee.

They further urged President Muhammadu Buhari to quickly nominate another candidate to replace Dr Maidugu.

More to follow…


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.